The Gospel according to St. Van; Vans Instructions

A forum in which to discuss topics that are not specific to a particular series of aircraft (ie. how to cut alclad)
mustang
Class E

The Gospel according to St. Van; Vans Instructions

Post by mustang »

OK, this is not a question, more of a caution to new builders. Don't take all of Vans instructions booklet as gospel.

Case in point, the very first riveting instruction is to sandwich the elevator pivot bearing in between the mounting brackets. Then the instructions specify the rivet type and size. We lightly primed the bearing housing and of course the mounting brackets were already powdercoated. The very next sentence in the instructions was in (brackets) and stated, "(these are the correct length)", refering to the rivets just specified.

We made a dry run with the specified rivets and I thought the rivets seemed a bit short. (I have very little riveting experience) We re-read the instructions and decided to go ahead as instructed. We squeezed a couple of rivets and used the Avery rivet gauge tool. HEY! These rivets did not measure up???? Hmmm,... maybe we are not using the tool correctly?

We pressed on regardless and completed the job. I took the completed part to my very experienced friend and he told me that the rivets were too short.!?! I asked him whether I should drill them out and re-rivet but he said "Don't bother, they are pretty close to spec". "Next time, measure the rivets and disregard what it says in the instructions."

BIG REVELATION! Measure the rivets and disregard the instructions! WOW. For us first time builders this is a big leap of faith, or maybe a big step away from faith. As a pilot of this RV that we are building, I want it to be as correct as possible. But now I am told to disregard the instructions.