Scotchbrite Wheel - how to fix it?

A place to discuss workshops and the use and desirability of tools.
BSwayze
Class C

Scotchbrite Wheel - how to fix it?

Post by BSwayze »

I made a mistake when I was a newbie building my empennage, and I allowed some grooves to be formed in my scotchbrite wheel. Now, if I'm not very careful when I'm using it, the narrow groove in particular will catch the edge of the metal piece I'm working on and nearly pull it out of my hands. It's the groove on the left side that gives me so much trouble. The surface slopes to the left also, as you can see. I would like to get it back to a nice flat surface, if there's a way to do that.

I'm wondering if someone knows a method, technique, or tool that I can use to "dress" the wheel? Is there some way to cut, grind, or wear away some of the surface and get it back to a flat, smooth surface? Or do I just have to bite it and throw it away and buy a new one?

cjensen
Whiskey Victor

Post by cjensen »

I've been using mine for a long time now with those same grooves. I just keep the material moving to avoid getting caught in a groove. I've tried several things I thought would "dress" it out, but not even a steel file would dress it...just wore down the teeth on the file.

Maybe some others have some ideas that do work...

I didn't want to spend another $50 for one, so I work around it. :oops:

The longer you use it, the more AL will eventually wear it down, and the grooves will disappear...
Chad Jensen
Missing my RV-7...
Vertical Power support
http://verticalpower.com

Spike
Chief Rivet Banger

Post by Spike »

I have more grooves in mine than I know what to do with. I did not do a good job of protecting it when I started. Oh well, live and learn I guess.

John
http://www.rivetbangers.com - Now integrating web and mail!
Current Build: 2 years into a beautiful little girl

flytoboat
Class E

Dressing scotchbrite wheel

Post by flytoboat »