Priming

A place to discuss your primer & paint choices including using paint shops or doing it yourself.
lowaltituderecord
Class G

Priming

Post by lowaltituderecord »

Ok, I know there is a lot of debate about this but I haven't seen this point brought up about to prime or not to prime. I'm a chemist, actually one that works on polymers, so I got to thinking. If you have 2 coats of paint between mating parts that are riveted together, (one coat on each part) then you will eventually create a loose bond. The paint is not designed to have mechanical strength, and will eventually deteriorate from friction as the parts move over time from both mechanical stress and expansion and contraction from heating and cooling cycles. What's a coat of paint, at least .001", this means that your bonded parts could wind up having at least a .002" gap between them, maybe even more. Then you'll have to fix rivets, that's if you're lucky enough for it to happen in a place where you can repair it. I don't know, do they prime parts on production aircraft? Is corrosion on the interior of the airframe really that much of an issue? Aluminum forms an oxide on the surface that provides a barrier, unlike that of iron oxide.

I'm not going to prime my plane, just give it a good coat of paint on the outside and make sure it's all sealed well, possible repaint the outside on a regular basis.

weezbad
Class C

Post by weezbad »

i really doubt it matters as long as the film thickness is held to a minimum.

i can say hundreds of planes have been built this way as well as cars and although there is not any structural value to the paint i think it is unlikely to work and cause smoking rivets.. the trick is to only use neough to do the job. i used a touch up gun with gravity cup and a .8 tip so there isnt the typical film build but it is very atomized and covered well. i used epoxy also.