Here's one for the primer wars

A place to discuss your primer & paint choices including using paint shops or doing it yourself.
bmurrish
Class D

Here's one for the primer wars

Post by bmurrish »

Bill Murrish
RV-8 Fuselage

Spike
Chief Rivet Banger

Post by Spike »

And I bet they spend more than that $24K stripping and polishing it. Thats pathetic in my humble opinion

-- John
http://www.rivetbangers.com - Now integrating web and mail!
Current Build: 2 years into a beautiful little girl

captain_john
Sparky

Post by captain_john »

Yah, that is pretty pathetic.

Paint amounting to 360 pounds is pivotal in the economics of an airline?

Well, I am no Aviation Management major but, it hardly seems worthwhile!

Maybe that is why I am a lowly teacher?

:mrgreen: CJ
RV-7
Garmin G3X with VP-X & a TMX-IO-360 with G3i
It's all over but the flying! 800+ hours in only 3 years!

bmurrish
Class D

Post by bmurrish »

OK, sorry I am an engineer. Forget about the $$$. What about exposing aluminum to good old mother nature? Ain't that what our planes are made of?
Bill Murrish
RV-8 Fuselage

cjensen
Whiskey Victor

Post by cjensen »

i'm with you bill! i love polished AL, and i do think it looks pretty.

i try to ignore what some of these airlines do for cost savings. most of the time it makes sense, but this is a little off, if not out of the box.
Chad Jensen
Missing my RV-7...
Vertical Power support
http://verticalpower.com

TWJoyner
Class G

Post by TWJoyner »

I actually saw that airplane in Vancouver the other morning. It simply looked like Air Canada had picked it up from the desert and didn't have time to apply paint before rushing it into service. Just didn't look right in my opinion. The trouble with bare aluminum on commercial aircraft is that it doesn't take long to lose it's shine, then it just looks bad. American's airplanes look good, but I think (and have been told) they polish them somewhat regularly. Oh well... $$$ speaks.

captain_john
Sparky