Way OT - router question

A forum for the proverbial airport bum who just wants to talk about anything and everything related to flying. Introduce yourself here !!

tshort
Class C

Way OT - router question

Post by tshort »

OK, it is sorta RV related, because I want it to work in the shop!

I am having the cable modem installed Friday. The "access point" - i.e. office is about 150' (max) from the shop, on the other side of the house. I need a wireless router that will enable me to use my laptop in the shop. I have done lots of reading on the internet, but the reviews between Amazon, cnet.com, pcmag.com cannot seem to come to a single conclusion. There seem to be mixed reviews about the yet to be determined "N" protocol.

Any of you techies out there have any recommendations? I have had good luck with Linksys stuff in the past, but am open to any suggestions. I just want good signal and speed in the shop. I can remember not that long ago (5 years or so) when I was a resident and lived here with 2 buddies. It was really before wireless, and we had cat5 cables running all over the house for gaming!

T.

p.s. I am on a neighbor's wireless now; no idea who or where. I can pick up about 8 networks here, 2 of which are not secured... I don't know how far away they are, though. My neighbor across the alley is closer than my office and his linksys router has a poor signal here in the shop....
Thomas Short
Indianapolis, IN (KUMP)
RV-8 wings

Spike
Chief Rivet Banger

Post by Spike »

Go with the linksys. Stable reliable, and they provide firewall, NAT, DMZ, DHCP, etc. Very capable little boxes for not much money.
http://www.rivetbangers.com - Now integrating web and mail!
Current Build: 2 years into a beautiful little girl

tshort
Class C

Post by tshort »

Any suggestions for the model? Should I get one of the pre-N boxes? I just want to make sure I have the range to the shop...

T.
Thomas Short
Indianapolis, IN (KUMP)
RV-8 wings

JohnR
Class B

Post by JohnR »