Introduction

A forum for the proverbial airport bum who just wants to talk about anything and everything related to flying. Introduce yourself here !!

mkjprice
Class G

Introduction

Post by mkjprice »

Hello All!

I have been a member for a while, but have been lurking and reading.

A little background. I am a 4th Generation Pilot. My Great Grandfather was an early Army Air Core Instructor, and ferried B-29's over the pond. After the war he started Hollister Air Service (now gone) in Hollister, CA. My Grandfather flew before he could drive. His younger brother soloed 16 aircraft on his 16th birthday. My Grandmother also became a pilot.

My Mom's younger Sister who married my Dad's younger Brother are both pilots, with my Uncle flying his Arrow from Columbia, CA to San Jose, CA a few time as his commute. 45 minute flight or a 3 hour drive, you pick.

I got my PPL in November of 1999 while working for Chandler Air Service (KCHD) as a fueler. I was 22 at the time. In 2001 after getting married, my wife and I moved to Sanford, FL to attend Comair Aviation Academy. I was working on my Instrument Rating when 9/11 happened. I completed flight school all the way through my CFII and Multi Commercial and have not flown much since, due to the decline of the aviation market.

I have worked in Real Estate as an Appraiser since 2005 and I am also an Insurance Agent for Farm Bureau in Utah. I live in Nephi, UT with my wife and 4 year old son.

I plan to start building and RV-8 in the spring next year, and I plan to use this project to keep me sane, and to help me teach my son how to stick with a tough job until it is finished. Also it will be fun to have him help me, as he is an aviation geek, just as much as his dad is.