Up front or in the back

This is a forum to ask questions regarding the different models of Vans Aircraft. If you are having problems deciding which one to build, this is the place to go.
Eric
Class G

Up front or in the back

Post by Eric »

Greetings,

First post for me so I'll start with a topic that will be sure to draw fire. :x

I have been churning about building for many years. I am looking hard at an 8A since my only tailwheel time is 1.8 hrs dual in a Citabria. It was fun, I had a ball, (it made me feel like a student again!) but I never went further to get a signoff. All of my other time (just under 500 hrs) has all been nose gear work. I figured that convenience, taxi visability and insurance were good enough reasons to stay with the nose gear. Then I started to read about accidents that point to structural questions, wheel pants clearance issues, routing exhaust in the cowl and nose wheel interference. To top it off I got a ride in an 8 the other day and I liked it. I love grass strips and I want to be able to use them.

Soooo...I would like to hear input from

1. 8A builders/drivers- your experiences/opinions
2. 8 drivers-particularly if you were tailwheel challenged like I am
3. Anyone else with constructive input.

You have quite a site here. Thanks in advance for your time and input. Eric

dirtmanf800
Class G

Post by dirtmanf800 »

Welcome Eric, you will get a response to that question here :evil: I don't have any tailwheel time or RV time :mrgreen: , so my only comment is that I am planning to build the 9-A. Again welcome aboard
collecting tools, planning shop, studying -9A preview plans, old and new training project on hand, fabricating stiffeners.
dirtmanf800

Spike
Chief Rivet Banger

Post by Spike »

Welcome Eric. Glad to have you join the site!!